CERN Employee Reviews

Found 93 reviews matching the search See all 107 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
User (Former Employee) –  Meyrin, GEJanuary 24, 2017
I believe that Cern is a really nice environment to work in.
International workplace with a nice taste of professionality and welcoming to new members.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gentle and nice working place, hourly flexible, clearly defined project, goo coordination, good planning
Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Genève, GEDecember 17, 2016
Very gentle and nice working place, international
And biggest nuclear research center in the world,
---> Www.Cern.Ch

I have been very satisfied by working at cern, geneva, switzerland.
Pros
Good relationship among colleagues
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent, but way too competitive
Electronic Eng. (Former Employee) –  Genève, GEDecember 15, 2016
Best place for young kids, unfurtinately the conrract policy is miserable, wuldn't be allowed by any national regulation.
This physics lab is a mafia driven place. Sad for science and human ethic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research Assistant for one Lab
Research Assistant - CMS Experiment (Former Employee) –  Genève, GENovember 4, 2016
I was a research assistant for one lab at CERN. My experience was crafted solely based on the management of that lab and is not characteristic of CERN as a whole
Pros
great food
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place with a huge exposure to science
Systems Engineer (Current Employee) –  GenevaOctober 31, 2016
Great place to work but physics-oriented. I have learned about time series analysis and machine learning. Work culture is great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cern
Dessinateur technicien CVC (Former Employee) –  Genève, GEOctober 6, 2016
De très bonne relation de travail avec différentes nationalités.
Dessinateur projeteur en mécanique avec les logiciel Catia et l utilisation de Smarteam
Pros
A la pointe de la recherche
Cons
aucun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail très stimulant
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Genève, GEOctober 3, 2016
Un environnement de travail très stimulant, des collègues passionnés, une fierté de travailler au CERN.
Pros
Bonne assurance maladie, confiance de mes superviseurs
Cons
Contrat de 5 ans non renouvelable ...
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Idea turned into political mess
Project Assistant (Current Employee) –  CMSSeptember 22, 2016
When it was established CERN was a great idea.
A good physicist does not mean a good manager.
Administration is heavy and badly managed from people who does not know the work on the lower level.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cern
technicien stagiaire (Former Employee) –  GeneveAugust 24, 2016
Incroyable expérience. Un endroit ou la communauté des chercheurs est soudée autour d'un seul objectif, la découverte de la nouvelle physique. Une émulation pour l'ingénierie incroyable. Recherche et développements sont les maitres mots!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, intellectual environment
Visiting Researcher (Former Employee) –  GenevaJune 29, 2016
I spent a summer at CERN as an undergrad physics student. It was really exciting to be at the forefront of research, and I found the academics to be very laid back and friendly when interacting with me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Il lavoro occupa quasi interamente la vita privata
Research Internship (Former Employee) –  CHMay 31, 2016
Lavoro ben pagato.
Molto stimolante se molto appassionati nella materia; opprimente in caso contrario.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable working environment
MECHANICAL DESIGN ENGINEER (Current Employee) –  Genève, GEMay 9, 2016
I usually get a list of task and I work self-managed, with some guide lines from my supervisor. I have learned how to organise my work and prioritize it to do my job efficiently. The enviornment is nice and relaxed. I enjoy my job in general but some times I would like to do more challenging work.
Pros
Free working schedule
Cons
Not very good conditions for contractors
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work in
Master Thesis (Former Employee) –  Genève, GEApril 24, 2016
I would like to spend my career in such a place because the international context is amazing.

Advantages are incredible, the field of study and work are useful and very nice
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bonne première expérience en tant que technicien
Technical Engineer (Former Employee) –  Genève, GEApril 19, 2016
C'est une très bonne expérience pour commencer dans le monde du travail. La technologie utilisée est parfois très diverse et demande des compétences multiples, ce qui rends le travail intéressant. L'ambiance atmosphérique du CERN est détendue.

Le seul problème c'est qu'on ne peut pas y rester.. mais c'est pas grave, parce que vous pouvez bien attendre 8 à 11 ans (si vous avez la chance de pouvoir rester autant de temps déjà) pour savoir si vous allez enfin recevoir un contrat fixe ou non. Il faut vraiment pratiquer la patience :)
Pros
bonne ambiance, superbes conditions de travail
Cons
Pas de possibilité de rester, Presque tous les contrats à durée indeterminée sont actuellement possédés par des francais
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Trainee (Former Employee) –  Genève, GEApril 12, 2016
Good opportunities are available for students to train for future careers.
They have a very good management too.
Modern equipment for research.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just pefect
Administrateur Système - Architecte de solution (Former Employee) –  Kanton FreiburgMarch 22, 2016
Just a bit sad that the are only short term contract.
but honestly this is the best place on earth to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great multi-cultural working environment
Event Management Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Meyrin, GEMarch 7, 2016
CERN is a fantastic place to work in. Young, dynamic and pluri-cultural, you will gain and learn a lot from others.

Competitive salaries specially for students and young graduates.

Big human resources turnover due to the "educational" policy. People are here to learn and leave so CERN can keep teaching to as many people as possible in several domains (from science to engineering and administration).
Pros
Diversity, young average age, competitive salaries, domain
Cons
big turnover, low career opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
innovative place but without future perspective
Research associate (ATLAS experiment) (Current Employee) –  Genève, GEMarch 4, 2016
- Work with very smart people
- at the cutting edge of the human knowledge
- Open minded environment
- Completely missing Job Work/Life Balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to spend one's graduate years
Ph.D. Student (Current Employee) –  Genève, GEFebruary 25, 2016
CERN is a fabulous place to work as a physicist. One is constantly surrounded by truly brilliant people and one has no shortage of extremely challenging technical problems that are as fascinating as they are deep in complexity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Réalisations de haute technologie
Chaudronnier/tôlier/soudeur et métalier/serrurier (Former Employee) –  Meyrin, GEFebruary 1, 2016
Fabrications de divers composants,prototypes,petites séries,(tôlerie/chaudronnerie/soudure) pour les accélérateurs de particules , principalement pour des applications ultravide, cryogéniques et appareils à pression ainsi que plusieurs interventions aux seins des accélérateurs de particules en zone contrôlées (travaux de métallerie/serrurerie )
Travaux hyper diversifiés demandant beaucoup de minutie et savoir faire.
Pros
Ingenierie de trés haute technologie
Cons
Précarité de l'emploie, peu de contrats reconduient.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CERN. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 107 reviews
567
431
34
24
11

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
4.4Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.3Culture

CERN Reviews by Location