CERN Employee Reviews in Genf, GE

Found 60 reviews matching the search See all 107 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmosphere
Volunteering (Former Employee) –  GenevaDecember 6, 2019
I recommend. It is ideal place for people who appreciate personal development.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a nice place to work at.
Technical Student (Former Employee) –  Geneva, GEOctober 28, 2019
Geneva is a quiet city with friendly and heartwarming people. I would recommend CERN to everyone, especially if they want to travel a lot around Europe.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place
Research Scientist (Former Employee) –  Geneva, SwitzerlandSeptember 3, 2019
This was an internship that I had. It was fun being at this research institute because of the welcoming nature of my group. If you are from another country the hard part will be overcoming the jet lag.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Geneva SwitzerlandAugust 19, 2019
Cern is one of the best places to be regarding the work environment.
However, Geneva and Saint Genis are not very lively after work...
Protip: Learn French
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team with interesting projects
Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Genf, GEMarch 5, 2019
My working experience at CERN is absolutely great. My team is friendly and productive and the whole organization has a great job culture. There are a lot of events for bringing the employers together depending on their interests, culture and positions. Working with ROOT team is very interesting. I had to find solutions in a variety of small and big problems and it was a great challenge for me. I really appreciate all of my collegues because they tried from my first day to make me feel comfortable and they give me the opportunity to improve my skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place in the world to do research in physics
Research Associate Fellow (Current Employee) –  GeneveFebruary 2, 2019
No please is like CERN if you want to do research in particle physics. Life there can be hectic sometimes but it is the best laboratory in the world for this field. Salary is usually commensurate. You will meet people from all over the world in a friendly place.
Pros
The best lab ever
Cons
Geneva is crazy expensive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ottimo ambiente di lavoro
Technical Student (Former Employee) –  GinevraDecember 21, 2018
Ambiente lavorativo eccellente, altissima professionalità in qualsiasi settore e gruppo di lavoro
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative environment
Software developer (Former Employee) –  Geneva, SwitzerlandNovember 26, 2018
Work was very independent. As long as you showed you were working and producing interesting results the management didn't interfere with the work. As I was a research assistant i was working closely with the Phd student who had designed the initial software.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement agréable
Livreur magasinier (Former Employee) –  Suisse GenèveNovember 20, 2018
Une très bonne équipe , des dirigeants très respectueux
Pros
Très bon salaire
Cons
Pas d'avantages en nature
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consulting job instead of research
Magnet engineer (Former Employee) –  Genf, GEOctober 11, 2018
Bad management, vertical hierarchy, some training available but no possibility of freedom, research or publications. No interest to do the best job, only to do a job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Working is the Key to success.
Mechanical Design Engineer (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Geneva, SwitzerlandJune 12, 2018
> Both CERN and HMC have busy schedule.
> When I designed a Product, I could see the knowledge used in it.
> Managements were superb
> Friendly Culture under the umbrella of motivational objectives
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for long term
POWER ELECTRONICS ENGINEER (Current Employee) –  Genf, GEMay 28, 2018
CERN is a very nice place to work with highly motivated persons.
You will work with very interested projects, win a lot of oxperence.
But, the contracts are mainly for some years (2 - 5 years), and it's create a bad athmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail international
Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  Geneve ( Swiss)March 13, 2018
Environnement de travail international, agreable et motivational
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adminstratif assistant
Administrative support assistant (Former Employee) –  GenevaFebruary 25, 2018
I was an office administrator and was responsible to register all the person that wanted to operate in the CERN, in Geneva to do any kind of experience related to the activity that CERN provide.
Pros
huge organisation, know world widely
Cons
no new tasks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bon environnement de travail
Agent de Protocole / Assistante Administrative (Former Employee) –  Genf, GEFebruary 19, 2018
Au CERN, l'environnement de travail est très enrichissant.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, engaging, and rewarding
Summer Research Intern (Former Employee) –  Geneva, SwitzerlandJanuary 29, 2018
fantastic co-workers
challenging but rewarding scientific research projects
as an intern, I always felt included and that my cooperation was taken seriously.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Researcher
ATLAS Researcher (Former Employee) –  GenevaJanuary 11, 2018
I worked as a researcher at CERN. The atmosphere was friendly and there was a real push to increase knowledge and collaborate. Facilities were good and working conditions comfortable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and collaborative environment.
Data Scientist (Current Employee) –  GenevaDecember 7, 2017
Collaborative environment with hundreds of institutions around the world.
Interesting and challenging, concerning the latest discoveries in high energy physics.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Genf, GEAugust 3, 2017
It is amazing to work here as you meet great people everyday there.
It is a multinationational organization with happy people. I love working here as I contribute to science and I feel that I belong in a big team that always protect me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intelligent company
Software Engineer Intern (Former Employee) –  Geneva, SwitzerlandAugust 3, 2017
As a research intern, it was definitely intimidating at times working alongside wizards in any number of fields. Nevertheless, you are guaranteed to learn a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CERN. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 107 reviews
567
431
34
24
11

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
4.4Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.3Culture

CERN Reviews by Location