CERN Employee Reviews

Found 95 reviews matching the search See all 109 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start you work experience
Administrative student (Former Employee) –  Kanton GenfDecember 18, 2019
Good working conditions, atmosphere, supportive and smart people, numerous activities, self development, courses and conferences!
Strongly recommend to apply.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great atmosphere
Volunteering (Former Employee) –  GenevaDecember 6, 2019
I recommend. It is ideal place for people who appreciate personal development.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Summer student (Former Employee) –  Geneva, SwitzerlandNovember 8, 2019
Being part of the summer student programme is truly an amazing experience. You are assigned a supervisor for your project who is very supportive and understandable that you came there to learn. Depending on the role you get, you can do programming, machine learning, hands on, experimental work, control systems or anything else really.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a nice place to work at.
Technical Student (Former Employee) –  Geneva, GEOctober 28, 2019
Geneva is a quiet city with friendly and heartwarming people. I would recommend CERN to everyone, especially if they want to travel a lot around Europe.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic!
Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  MeyrinOctober 7, 2019
CERN is an amazing place to work in. I enjoyed working there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place
Research Scientist (Former Employee) –  Geneva, SwitzerlandSeptember 3, 2019
This was an internship that I had. It was fun being at this research institute because of the welcoming nature of my group. If you are from another country the hard part will be overcoming the jet lag.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting company
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Meyrin, GEAugust 27, 2019
A good company to work for, just very important to be placed into the correct section/department before starting as it could be that you are placed in a department where you cannot really exercise your previous skills.
Pros
Multiple training opportunities, Good remuneration, Interesting work environments
Cons
Internal mobility is limited.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Geneva SwitzerlandAugust 19, 2019
Cern is one of the best places to be regarding the work environment.
However, Geneva and Saint Genis are not very lively after work...
Protip: Learn French
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interessant
Technicien mécanique (Former Employee) –  MeyrinMarch 25, 2019
Pas beaucoup de évolution possible.
Periode de cdd trop long
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team with interesting projects
Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Genf, GEMarch 5, 2019
My working experience at CERN is absolutely great. My team is friendly and productive and the whole organization has a great job culture. There are a lot of events for bringing the employers together depending on their interests, culture and positions. Working with ROOT team is very interesting. I had to find solutions in a variety of small and big problems and it was a great challenge for me. I really appreciate all of my collegues because they tried from my first day to make me feel comfortable and they give me the opportunity to improve my skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Research Fellow (Current Employee) –  Kanton GenfFebruary 8, 2019
Typical office job but a fair amount of freedom and very independent. Experience can vary a lot depending on your supervisor. One negative is that it is very difficult to get a permanent job and the contracts are reasonably short 3 year max.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place in the world to do research in physics
Research Associate Fellow (Current Employee) –  GeneveFebruary 2, 2019
No please is like CERN if you want to do research in particle physics. Life there can be hectic sometimes but it is the best laboratory in the world for this field. Salary is usually commensurate. You will meet people from all over the world in a friendly place.
Pros
The best lab ever
Cons
Geneva is crazy expensive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ottimo ambiente di lavoro
Technical Student (Former Employee) –  GinevraDecember 21, 2018
Ambiente lavorativo eccellente, altissima professionalità in qualsiasi settore e gruppo di lavoro
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative environment
Software developer (Former Employee) –  Geneva, SwitzerlandNovember 26, 2018
Work was very independent. As long as you showed you were working and producing interesting results the management didn't interfere with the work. As I was a research assistant i was working closely with the Phd student who had designed the initial software.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement agréable
Livreur magasinier (Former Employee) –  Suisse GenèveNovember 20, 2018
Une très bonne équipe , des dirigeants très respectueux
Pros
Très bon salaire
Cons
Pas d'avantages en nature
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
probably the best place i have been to
Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  Bezirk Zürich, ZHOctober 14, 2018
I learned a lot during my experience working at the CMS collaboration. I met excellent mentors who later on inspired me to pursue a new career goal. very nice place.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consulting job instead of research
Magnet engineer (Former Employee) –  Genf, GEOctober 11, 2018
Bad management, vertical hierarchy, some training available but no possibility of freedom, research or publications. No interest to do the best job, only to do a job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great experience for young researchers but no possibilities to advance on your career
Researcher (Current Employee) –  CERNOctober 11, 2018
Very nice people to work with usually, freedom, but not high end technology and research. Overall a great experience for young researchers but no possibilities to advance on your career.
Pros
Good life balance
Cons
Impossible to advance on career
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Il top della ricerca mondiale
LHCb Computing Coordinator and Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Kanton GenfJune 19, 2018
CERN è l'end'point di molte carriere brillanti. Qualunque fisico delle alte neergie vorrebbe vantare di poter aver lavorato al CERN e presso uno degli esperimenti di fisica del grande acceleratore di particelle LHC.
Io ho avuto questo prvilegio e ho anche deciso di lasciare questo mondo fatto inizialmnte di grandi stimoli per cercarne di nuovi.
Non tutto ciò che oro luccica....
Pros
Fringe benefits diplomatici, salari altissimi, viaggi di lavoro, istruzione dei figli, assicurazione vita e salute per la famiglia.
Cons
Dopo 10 anni la vita si appiattisce
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Working is the Key to success.
Mechanical Design Engineer (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Geneva, SwitzerlandJune 12, 2018
> Both CERN and HMC have busy schedule.
> When I designed a Product, I could see the knowledge used in it.
> Managements were superb
> Friendly Culture under the umbrella of motivational objectives
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CERN. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 109 reviews
569
431
34
24
11

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
4.4Compensation/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.3Culture

CERN Reviews by Location